Sada Cruzeiro retain World Championship crown in flawless display


Rodriguinho and Robertlandy Simón at a pumped celebration on the way to Cruzeiro's third world title

Betim, Brazil, October 23, 2016 - Their best performance of the tournament came to light at the best possible moment - the gold medal match. Defending champions Sada Cruzeiro were simply something out of this world to defeat Zenit Kazan 3-0 (25-21, 25-23, 25-15) and top the FIVB Volleyball Men’s Club World Championship for second time in a row and third in their history.

There was no player in Sada Cruzeiro out of tone as the whole team acted like a well-oiled machine. Opposite Evandro Guerra led the scorers with 14 points, joined by Yoandy Leal who chipped in with 13, while star setter William Arjona was elected as the tournament’s MVP. For Kazan, Wilfredo León did well with 13 kills but the Russians were no match for the champions.

Although the first set was one of narrow leads, Sada Cruzeiro stayed in control from beginning to end. Evandro, Leal and Isac Santos were relentless in attack to hold off Kazan, and afterwards it was Cruzeiro’s output in blocking and serving that eventually eroded the European champions. Only a serving streak from Maxim Mikhaylov at the very end reduced the gap, but there was no way of stopping Cruzeiro in Betim.

The third set existed only for the ecstasy of the louder-than-ever Cruzeiro crowd. Robertlandy Simón unveiled a stunning block at 13-11 and ended the hopes of the Russian side, as the rest of the set only helped to make the distance between the two teams greater. A wide attack from Kazan triggered celebrations after an unexpected 25-15 final score.

FIVB Men’s Club World Championship Honours:
1989 - Maxicono Parma (ITA)
1990 - Mediolanum Milan (ITA)
1991 - Il Messaggero Ravenna (ITA)
1992 - Misura Milan (ITA)
2009 - Trentino BetClic (ITA)
2010 - Trentino BetClic (ITA)
2011 - Trentino Diatec (ITA)
2012 - Trentino Diatec (ITA)
2013 - Sada Cruzeiro (BRA)
2014 - Belogorie Belgorod (RUS)
2015 - Sada Cruzeiro (BRA)
2016 - Sada Cruzeiro (BRA)

FIVB Volleyball Men's Club World Championship Betim 2016 - Teams   


All the News